Texting During Church. Is It OKAY?

Every now and then, when the pastor says something especially interesting, I’ll text it to my “status update distribution service” that will in turn send it to twitter, facebook, and about 20 other social networking sites that I don’t really pay attention to but am on anyway.

Today this became an issue, but not by people at church, by people on facebook who don’t think that I ought to be texting while service is in progress.  What is really interesting is that the whole thing that started it was a friend of mine who probably isn’t saved made a joke about me sending a text during church.  Her comment pretty much launched an interesting conversation about whether or not I did was appropriate.

This is what I sent out to the world:

“Wow… the pastor just encouraged his church to pray FOR our leaders and not AGAINST.  Nice!”

This is the second reply:

“U should ask that pastor to come to Kenya.  We need tremendous intercession for our leaders.”

Now, I consider this a huge victory!  Not only did I get to share with the people who subscribe to my feeds this simple yet interesting thought, but I also learned about something that I needed to pray for today!

In my opinion, I think that texting during church is a great thing.  I know that several of you here do it.  Especially when the pastor says something interesting that is worth (and easy) to share.

What is your opinion?

The worldle for this post:

Wordle: Texting During Church


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Texting During Church. Is It OKAY?”

  1. Sterling Hanenkamp Says:

    I use my Mini laptop as my Bible and take notes on it in church. Is that a sin? My answer is no, but I do not connect to the Internet or wifi at all during this time, or I would be tempted to distract myself and sin.

    There’s no command forbidding it or texting and I think you’d be stretching any text you tried to apply directly to these problems. I’m willing to be proven wrong, but I’ll need to see your proof text in context. Christian liberty, under the Law of Christ, then, suggests to me that using these things during the service is ultimately no sin. Yet, individual Christians often need to set boundaries for things that are sinful for themselves: actions that lead them toward idols and away from God.

    Therefore, 1 Corinthians 8ff is the insight needed. If texting in church is a sin for you, don’t do it. If it isn’t a sin for you, then don’t worry about it. If you are sitting next to a Christian brother or sister for whom you know this bugs and they think it’s a sin or might become angry at you and sin, then you probably shouldn’t. How far you take that is a matter of discernment.

    “‘All things are lawful,’ but not all things are helpful. ‘All things are lawful,’ but not all things build up. Let no one seek his own good, but the good of his neighbor.” — 1 Corinthians 10:23-24

    • iworshipyahweh Says:

      Your comment here seems to do a nice job of summarizing most of the comments that I have received on this topic from the various places that I posted it.

      From the comments that I have been getting on this topic, this is what I have begun to conclude:

      1. Most of the people who don’t want you to share about the sermon via text during the sermon time are doing so for mostly selfish reasons.
      2. People are too concerned about what the guy over there is doing. Anybody who can complain about it isn’t doing the right thing in the first place.
      3. Christians excel at coming up with reasons to not share. This doesn’t apply just to texting but can be found in many different ways.
      4. Some churches encourage this behavior.
      5. It would be great for EVERY church with a youth culture to embrace this method.
      6. Even if the pulpit endorsed this activity, I don’t think it would do much to pacify the “old guard” who don’t like the idea in the first place.
      7. This means that I don’t think most of the arguments against it are the real arguments. I think if you solved the “mystery” you would still have people discourage the practice.
      8. Seven exists because people struggle to tell the difference between truth and opinion.
      9. Why must we apply so many rules and regulations to how we can and cannot share Christ?

      PS: I use YouVersion on my Droid. I is becoming a more and more important tool for me as a student of the scriptures. It requires an active internet connection. I seem to not struggle all that much with fiddling around with the internet while I’m in church. If I did, things would probably be different.

  2. iworshipyahweh Says:

    Somebody on another forum pointed me to a YouTube video on the evangelist linebacker:

    This is what I said to him:

    It is worth mentioning that not everybody is an evangelist. Evangelism is one of the gifts that God gives and takes. But each one of us needs to do are part to help the evangelist evangelize. If we have young evangelists sitting in the service who want to text, our job is to help them. Not hinder them.

    I do believe in doing whatever we need to do to help the evangelists in our churches. I talk to many who feel alone (many of them actually are!) and unsupported. I think it is the Christian’s job to figure out what our gifts are and then figure out ways that we can use those gifts to support the evangelist.

    Of course, the evangelist also needs to set aside their own personal hesitations too and figure out creative ways to employ the gifts that God has put in your church.

    Hint: if you are an urban church and you don’t baptize and grow, or if your church has a lot of turn, it is because the last two paragraphs aren’t happening in your church.

Leave a Reply

